Just Don’t Ask Me Where I Come From

Earnest and interesting from my friend Shira.

Shira Gur

My name is Shira Gur. I’m Jewish and I come from Israel and I’m many more other things. Lately I have stayed in Nashville, Tennessee (long story). It really is a great city but when people try to be friendly and engage in a conversation by asking ‘where do you come from?’ I feel like someone punched me in the stomach. Why? Read and find out.

Let me share with you a little anecdote: Couple of nights ago I took a cab to the place I’m staying at in Nashville. It was late at night and I was freezing and tired and the only thing I was interested in doing was climb into bed and sleep. What I definitely had no interest in doing at that particular moment was engage in one of those small talks that begin with the question: So, where do you come from?

When I got…

View original post 1,560 more words

Leave a Reply

